Treatment and Influences

Treatment from 360MC CW2

My documentary will begin with myself speaking directly into the camera in a vlog style explaining that I am about to meet someone who dresses up as a fictional character for fun (for lack of a better term). I will meet this person and I will ask them about their costume and what it took to make it. We will then talk about their personal experiences that lead to the hobby and I why they took it up.

Cut to a Vlog wherein I talk about meeting some of the first contributor’s friends and fellow cosplayers. When I meet them I’ll ask about what brought them together and how the role the hobby may have played in that. I’ll ask them about self-expression and how cosplay is an extension of them. This is where the theme of the film lies with idea of creative expression and how it is bringing all these people together in such positive ways. This theme will escalate throughout the film as I connect with bigger cosplay communities online to show how hobby has created a sub culture that has grown exponentially over the years.

I will attempt to connect with industry professionals whom may share their thoughts on subculture and provide another profound point of view on the subject. Couple this with the cosplayers own views and it broaden the reach of this narrative.

I will use they’re networking presence and learn they have come together through their passion and why it motivates such a movement. I intend for it all to culminate with a trip to the Birmingham Comic con in March where all the cosplayers convene to display their hard work. Hopefully I will be able to record the conventions cosplay gala and interview different people outside of the contacted groups who have come from far and wide to get there.

The aim of this documentary is create a better understanding of motivations and creative drives of Cosplayers and their extended community. I intend to allow their passion to flow freely through their own words and highlight all the hard work that goes into the various costumes. I also intend to examine any stigma’s that they have endured and, if they are willing, understand their views on the matter. This will show how far they have come over the years and big their community has grown.

For the this film I watched a documentary called Tom Felton meets the superfans, although not strictly cosplay centric it does feature heavily enough in parts where they discuss the act of cosplaying, how it affects their lives and what it means to them. This was what I meant when I wanted to get at the heart of cosplay. I wanted to allow the cosplayers to speak on behalf on their hobbythrough my film and present as it truely is as opposed to what the media percieves it to be.

On the subject of Media I ran into this article online:Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 11.32.50

This is what one of my contributors had to say about this article:

“I’m bored reading it the writers views are completely off an he deserved all those hate emails He is wrong to tell people to calm down he doesn’t understand anything g at all.
 
I hate it. I hate news articles public ally about cosplay I don’t like the idea of cosplay being so published in tabloids and news
 
It’s our thing Leave it to us. It’s harsh but true…
 
as you can tell I don’t like to read”
Another examples was this:Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 22.26.22

So its clear there is a disconnect between media and cosplay’s community in regards to public perception. One chooses to respresent it in a positive light and another chooses a negative one. I want to strive to create something akin to the scenes in Superfans that talks about how cosplay makes one feel and how it has impact on their lives.

Looking back over the process I think I could have reached out to more media professionals however with the convention rapidly approaching and an operation that I had to undergo in the middle of schedule in mid February really hampered my time to arrange interviews as I was out of action and couldn’t leave the house for two weeks due to the amount of pain and discomfort I was in and the when I came back MCM was only 3 weeks away, which didn’t leave me enough time conduct many interviews while my contributors still had enough free time.

Medical letter

Bronies on the other hand allowed its contributors to do the majority of the talking and you never hear any of the questions being asked. I would like to incorporate these types of scenes especially if the subject matter is more personal to the contributor being featured.

After re-watching Michael Moore and Louie thereaux and looking back at my proposal I thought it would be better to cut the vlogs in favour of voiceovers as they would allow me to convey my thoughts to the viewers with having to cut away to me speaking directly into the camera. It would also allow me more freedom and time to focus on other things, as I wouldn’t need to constantly book out the camera and rooms whenever I needed to add anything that needed to be said. If anything at all it was cut for the sake of convenience.

The animator was cut after I came back from recovery, as I just didn’t think I would have enough to find someone and arrange everything I’d need. It was an unfortunate victim of circumstance. In future If I were to ever revisit this project this would be something I’d like to tackle. As I think it would have really enriched the overall feel of the film with an artistic expression of what is being said much like in Bowling for Columbine and the Brony Documentary.

Bibliography

Bowling for Columbine. (2002). Michael Moore [film] usa: Metro Goldwyn Mayer

Bronies: The Extremely Unexpected Adult Fans of My Little Pony. (2012). Laurent Malaquais [film] usa: FilmBuff.

Littlejohn, R. (2015). RICHARD LITTLEJOHN: People in fancy dress a ‘vulnerable minority’?. [online] Mail Online. Available at: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/article-3172849/Is-bird-plane-No-s-victim-did-people-like-dressing-comic-book-characters-suddenly-vulnerable-minority-asks-RICHARD-LITTLEJOHN.html [Accessed 3 Mar. 2016].

Louis and the Nazis. (2003). Louis Theroux [film] uk: BBC.

Ratcliffe, A. (2014). Comic Book Artist Says Cosplayers Bring Nothing of Value to Conventions | Nerdist. [online] Nerdist. Available at: http://nerdist.com/comic-book-artist-says-cosplayers-bring-nothing-of-value-to-conventions/ [Accessed 9 Apr. 2016].

Tom Felton Meets the Superfans. (2015). Tom Felton [film] uk: BBC.

Leave a Reply

