Evaluation

Overall the documentary turned out very different from what I originally envisioned. I didn’t use any scenes of myself reflecting on the interview because I felt they weren’t necessary as I believe the footage conveys it’s own ideas and I found myself wanting to leave the ending open to interpretation so that the potential audience would be able to draw their own conclusions. Although I still regret not getting more footage of the anime society and the MCM comic con for more variety in the footage.

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 01.13.11

One thing that I take from this editing exercise is how time consuming a single edit can be when there are so many factors one must consider when structuring the footage in order to convey a comprehensible narrative. With so much footage it was difficult to pick what to use within such a limiting time frame of 3 minutes, many of scenes are cut and pasted from their wider context in order to cover as much information while avoiding bogging down the film with relentless banter, which was one of the downsides of the loose interviewing methods and also explains why some of the audio sounds like it’s being cut off midway through a sentence.

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 01.11.38

When editing I couldn’t help but think about Werner Herzog’s ecstatic truth when I was cutting the interview footage and selecting witch parts best conveyed the ideas that I was looking illuminate in the documentary. Of course none of the out of the context of their respective questions I just a sieved through in order bring out what I believe conveyed what my documentary was about best.

I wanted to ensure everything said was relevant in advancing the narrative and answering the questions I asked at the beginning of the film. I took interview questions and answers out of order so I could arrange the structure in a way I believed to be the best for the story to flow naturally. For Example the question regarding Locky’s views on personal fantasy and the anime society were swapped in order to escalate the scope of the story, which is illustrated when the film transitions from the society meeting to the MCM convention. I believe this helped to reinforce a grand scale to the question as opposed to the original order where I don’t think it would have had the same emotional impact on the potential audiences.

Leave a Reply

