Little Star Reflection

When I first came to university one of first things that stood out to me was the 5 Ideas for our blogs, one of those ideas that I developed was titled Little Star.

Little Star revolves around the struggles of Annie, a single mother who’s son Keekin is half human half alien hybrid, and the difficulties that come with raising him in world full of prejudice.

I was quite surprised when I came up with the idea for Little Star. Most ideas that I had brainstormed before were action adventures and/or thrillers involving heroes battling titanic monsters to save the world, but not this time. It started when I watched the trailer the film Wolf Children (Hosoda 2012). I was already familiar with Hosada’s previous work, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time (Hosoda 2006) and Summer Wars (Hosoda 2009) so I interested to see what his latest project was. The trailer for the film captured my imagination and started to think about the concept for Little Star. The idea for Little Star was born out my own views of racism and discrimination, except I wanted to add a science fiction twist to the concept. One often talks about human rights but what about a creature on a equal evolutionary level? are they not entitled to similar rights or are they reserved for humans alone?

Racism is the idea’s central theme with a world caught in the midst of an upheaval caused by the arrival of the Gaizan. When the aliens arrived on earth their ships were damaged and they crash landed on the planet, which caused a lot of death and destruction for both the humans and the Gaizan. With the skills that I will develop while at university I could revisit this idea and develop it using what I learn in my studies. I look forward to finishing this project in the future.

Bibliography

Hosoda, M. (2012) Wolf Children (trailer) [online] available from <http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xLji7WsW0w&gt; [29 November 2013]

Hosoda, M (2006) The Girl Leapt Through Time. [Blu-Ray] Japan: Madhouse

Hosoda, M (2009) Summer Wars. [DVD] Japan: Madhouse

Leave a Reply

