The Siren Production Diary

Production Diary.

11th of June 2012

We had some misfortunes during the Diamond Jubilee holiday as the weather refused to lighten up for my class mates and I failed to show due to missing a call, which was supposed to tell me when we were filming. I was informed that they had filmed some of the scenes but not enough so the project was abandoned in favor of the new project.

I had not seen Sam’s original script so I didn’t know specifically what was included in it story wise. Sam assured us that the new project would retain elements of the original script while creating a whole new story. Elements retained from the original script: Students being hunted by a deranged murderer (original I know), The car park which only had a brief appearance in the original draft was changed to the full setting for The Siren.

We proceeded to the College car park where we discussed what we would film as Sam had already planned out a story. It was decided that the killer would wear a mask so Sam and myself went into town to purchase a mask. We bought a Guy Fawkes mask from the Forbidden Planet. We returned to the car park where filming began.

After we finished filming. Sam plugged the camera into the MAC where he painstakingly logged and captured every piece of footage. Sam did this by connecting the camera with the mini-DV tape into the MAC using a Firewire cable and then launching Final Cut Pro. When he started final cut pro a screen popped up that informed him that final cut had found the camera. He then went to file and scrolled down until he found log and capture. A new window popped up and Sam clicked VTR OK, he did not need to adjust the settings because everything was already in order.

After the footage was logged and captured it appeared in final cut pro’s log bin. From there Sam could change the names of the video and audio files so that they would be easier to locate and manage, he could also arrange the files by content by right clicking (I had the right click option set on my MAC’s mouse I don’t know the other way) and selecting new bin to create a bunch of files. He could name so it would be a lot easier to manage his files. I did all of this when I was creating my video as you will see in the below image.

After Sam had logged and captured all of his video and audio files he saved them to his memory stick. He passed the memory stick around and we all got the files on our computers and into final cut pro.

When I was given the memory stick I moved the files into my storage although I was missing some of them at the time. I opened final cut pro and selected File: New Project, I then opened storage and simply dragged the files from storage into the log bin. An alternative method is too import the files by going to File: Import-files and then select the files you want imported. When I had the files in my log bin I dragged them onto the timeline where I could arrange them into the order I desire and cut out unwanted footage using the cutting tool. At some time during the editing process I realised that I did not have all of the video and audio files so I had to repeet the importing process again to get all the rest of the files.

I also utilised sound files from videos on youtube by highlighting the link to the video and copying it, I then went to vidtomp3.com and pasted the link into the taskbar and then clicked convert, when it was done converting I clicked downloads which sent it to my Itunes. I dragged the audio files from Itunes into the log bin so that they could be used like all my other files.

12th of June 2012 

Today I continued editing the footage much like I did the previous day. The only notable things that I did do was name all of my files in the log bin and arrange them into folders that represent their content. Examples include: Audio bin, the killer strikes and the lift chronicles. I did this by clicking on the files in the log bin twice and it allowed me to change the names.

I also moved some files around in the storage which had an effect on the video as final cut pro could not locate for whatever reason so I had to locate the files again by: right clicking-reconnect media, a window came up and clicked search which opened another window which showed my files and I searched for the right ones and double clicked them, it then took me back to the previous window and the file was listed as found, I then simply clicked on reconnect and it set everything straight.

I also made an attempt to export the video. I did this by going to File and clicking Export, then clicking Quick Time Conversion. A window popped which asked me to create a file. I named Maniac Stalker’s revenge and I saved it to the storage.

I also added some colour corrections. To do this I double clicked on a video clip in the timeline. It then showed up in the viewer, in the viewer there are some tabs such as filter which allowed me to create a black or white image which I dragged on to the time line. This creates a clip that is just a particular colour. I used editing to cut them down to a small size which I could use for makeshift transitions during the flashback sequences.

13th of June 2012

Nothing much to report on today it was just of what I did yesterday and the day before. I now know there is just one last thing I have to do to make this complete, I need the sounds of footsteps and keys dropping in order to make the car park scene complete. I also used effects for the first time, In my video a fade transition and slow motion effects. I created the fade transition by right clicking the very end of either a visual or audio clip on the timeline, when I right clicked a list showed up and I clicked on the Add transition “Cross Fade” which created a fade out fade in effect between the visual clips. In the audio’s case you do the same except it fades the sound out and in. In order to create a slow-mo effect I simply right click on the visual or audio clip and then a list appears, scroll down the list until you come to the change speed option, another window appears with the word Rate next to a box with a percentage in it to anything below 100.00% to slow it down.

18th of June 2012

I went out of the class room to record some audio on soundtrack pro on the MAC in the studio. I did this by going to the setting a new audio file which is located in the top left of the window, then all I needed to do was hit record when I was making the sounds and then saved them as MP3 files to my memory stick. I went to make the sounds of footsteps and keys dropping, like I said I would last week. After I got the audio files I saved them to my memory stick and I took back to the classroom where I transferred them from my usb to my storage and then into my final cut pro log bin. I cut and synched the audio file on the timeline and then when I was satisfied I exported the video the same way I did before.

Leave a Reply

